Saturday, August 27, 2016

Flashback: States Rights. New York State Didn't Leave England on July 4, 1776 But on July 19, 1776 reports:
on July 4, the declaration was formally adopted by 12 colonies after minor revision. New York, the 13th colony, approved it on July 19. On August 2, the declaration was signed.
It was nice that Thomas Jefferson declared independence for New York on July 4, but there was probably too many British troops for the New York legislature to "feel comfortable" to separate.